Customize Netlify Create to work with your existing workflows in a cloud project.
When working in a cloud project, Netlify Create provides a mechanism for granularly publishing code and content.
# Publishing workflow
The publish modal changes context based on the current page being viewed in the preview and sitemap.
When there are changes made to the current page, objects referenced within the page, or global objects, the Publish button is activated and lists all changes.
# Publishing context
Code and content changes are handled separately. This publishing context is set using the arrow within the Publish button.
Content and code are handled with differing levels of granularity. See below for more info.
# Code changes
You can optionally choose to open a pull request for code changes in the Publish section of the project settings.
# Git CMS behavior
When working with files as the content source (Git CMS), content changes are always merged from the working branch to the target branch. This behavior is not affected by the project's publishing settings.
When code changes are configured to open a pull request (see above), content changes will be included in the pull request. The publish dialog will be updated after the pull request is merged.
# Merge conflicts
Merge conflicts when publishing code or Git CMS changes will prompt an error message, and the publishing action will be cancelled.
# Pending changes
If new changes are made while publishing, the list shown in the publish dialog won't be updated until the current publish action is complete.
# Publishing granularity
Content can be published per page or per object. The publish modal changes context based on the current page being viewed in the preview and sitemap.
# Global (data) objects
Changes to global objects will appear in all pages. They only need to be published once to affect the pages on which they are used.
# Publish individual objects
Individual objects can be selected and published without publishing the page. For example, you can publish changes to an author object without publishing changes to a blog post.
Objects can also be published from the content tab.
Statuses are noted here to give a visual representation between new and changed items. Those without labels are assumed to be changed. Read more about document status labels.
# Publish multiple pages
Per page is the most you can publish at one time. However, it is possible to implement bulk publish with Bulk Document Actions.
# Code change granularity
# Scheduled publishing
Scheduled publishing is an enterprise feature. Contact us for more details.
After this feature is enabled for your site, ensure that you are using the most recent version of your content source package.
Scheduled publishing is supported for enterprise sites using a select set of content sources, enabling content editors to defer publishing events to a future date and time in a specific timezone.
- Publishing schedules are handled on a per-document (content entry) basis.
- Documents are published with all of their pending changes, no matter if those were made before or after the content was scheduled to be published.
- If content validations are not met, the content will still be published. Review all the content validations carefully before scheduling content for publishing.
- Schedules cannot be edited, but can be deleted and recreated with different settings.
- Only publish events can be scheduled. Unpublishing content must occur in real-time.
See below for further details.
# Schedule content to be published
Scheduled publishing is handled through the publishing modal, as with the typical publishing workflow.
Open the publish modal and select the documents to schedule. Then click on the schedule icon next to the publish button.
Choose a date and, time, and timezone.
Finally, click on Set Schedule and wait for the confirmation message.
# View publishing schedule
Upcoming publish events can be viewed on individual documents in the publishing modal. Hover over the schedule icon to prompt a tooltip with the schedule for that document.
The schedule is also available on individual documents in the content editor.
# Scheduled publishing granularity
As with the typical publishing workflow, a single document or a select set of documents can be scheduled together.
This can be done by selecting a specific document in the publishing modal, or when editing the document in the content editor.
# Edit publishing schedule
Once the date for a content entry to be published in the future is set, it can't be changed. Instead, cancel the current schedule and create a new schedule.
# Cancel publishing schedule
Canceling schedules is handled in the content editor. Click the schedule icon and then the delete icon to cancel a specific schedule event.
# Group publishing schedules
Each document's publishing schedule is managed individually, and cannot be managed as a group.
To add a single document to be published to an existing schedule, choose the same day and time (in the same timezone) as the existing schedule.
To see all the content entries that are scheduled to be published, navigate to ‘Content’ and filter by:
- Scheduled for Publish to see all content entries scheduled for publishing
- Scheduled Date to see all content entries scheduled for publishing at a certain date
# Set timezone
By default, the timezone shown in the scheduling modal will be your local time, regardless of how the modal was triggered.
Choosing a different timezone for a schedule will be translated to your local timezone when viewing a schedule.
# User visibility
Avatars representing users who have many any changes on the current page are shown to the left of the Publish trigger (1).
Within the publish dialog, avatars are attached to each individual object (2).
# See my changes
You can optionally choose to select only the changes you've made to the current page and objects on that page.
Did you find this doc useful?
Your feedback helps us improve our docs.