Manage deploys

Netlify versions all deploys. From the "Deploys" tab for your site in the Netlify UI, you can browse any deploy you've ever made and preview it from a unique URL.

Rollbacks

If you need to roll back, any previous deploy can be selected as the live version of your site in production by using the Publish Deploy button on the detail page of any successful deploy. Rollbacks are instantaneous.

Note

If your Netlify site is connected to a Git repository and has auto publishing turned on, any new Git-triggered production deploys will overwrite the previously rolled back version.

Locked deploys

Locked deploys give you the ability of pinning a site to the latest published deploy for the time being. New deploys won't be published to the main site, although Netlify will still build them and they will be ready for whenever you want to publish them.

Lock a published deploy

You can lock a deploy by disabling auto publishing. To disable auto publishing, navigate to your site's deploy list and click "Stop auto publishing".

Unlock a locked deploy

After a deploy has been locked, you can unlock it from the same deploys listing by clicking "Start auto publishing".

Event notifications

This feature may not be available on all plans.

You can get notifications about locked deploys via email, outgoing webhook, or Slack. Netlify can notify you when a deploy is either locked or unlocked.

You can configure these notifications from the notifications section in Site settings > Build & deploy > Deploy notifications. Visit the deploy notifications documentation to learn more.

Cancel a deploy

Sometimes, you may want to cancel a deploy after it has started. To do this, go to the detail page of the deploy in progress and select Cancel deploy. You'll then be prompted to confirm the canceling action. Select Yes, cancel deploy to confirm.

If you later want to restart the deploy, go to the detail page for the deploy and select Retry deploy > Deploy site.

Skip a deploy

Sometimes, you may want to push commits to your production branch without triggering a deploy on Netlify. To do this, add [skip ci] or [skip netlify] anywhere in the Git commit message.

In the case of multiple commits pushed together, add [skip ci] or [skip netlify] to the most recent commit, and it will apply to all other commits in the push.

The next commit pushed without one of those messages will trigger a new deploy, including all changes from the skipped commits as well. To trigger a deploy at will on your production branch, go to your site's Deploys page and click Trigger deploy at the top of the deploy list.

To avoid triggering automated deploys of any kind, you can stop builds for the entire site.

If you would like to continue building your deploys but don't want them published to your main URL, you can stop auto publishing.

Download a deploy

From the detail page of any successful deploy, including Netlify Drop deploys, you can download a copy of your site.

To generate a zip file containing your deployed files, click the download icon that follows the date in the deploy detail page header. When the zip is finished generating, click Download ready to download the deploy.

Deploy environment variables

You can set environment variables in the Netlify UI to control the environment your site gets deployed to. Deploy environment variables are available to serverless functions at execution time, snippet injection during post processing, and more.

  • Site-level environment variables are controlled in Site settings > Build & deploy > Environment > Environment variables.
  • Team-level environment variables are controlled in Team settings > Sites > Global site settings > Shared environment variables. (This feature may not be available on all plans.)

Variables set at the team level are shared by all sites owned by the team. These can be overridden by variables set at the site level.