Manage deploys

Netlify versions all deploys. From the Deploys tab for your site in the Netlify UI, you can browse any deploy you’ve ever made and preview it from a unique URL.

# Rollbacks

If you need to roll back, you can publish one of the previous deploys listed in the UI as the live version of your site in production. Use the Publish Deploy button on the detail page of any successful deploy. This doesn’t trigger a new deploy but instead publishes a previous atomic deploy that is still available to you. Rollbacks are instantaneous.

Note

If your Netlify site is connected to a Git repository and has auto publishing turned on, any new Git-triggered production deploys will overwrite the previously rolled back version.

# Locked deploys

Locked deploys give you the ability of pinning a site to the latest published deploy for the time being. New deploys won’t be published to the main site, although Netlify will still build them and they will be ready for whenever you want to publish them.

# Lock a published deploy

You can lock a deploy by disabling auto publishing. To disable auto publishing, navigate to your site’s deploy list and select Stop auto publishing.

# Unlock a locked deploy

After a deploy has been locked, you can use Start auto publishing to unlock it from the same deploys listing.

# Event notifications

This feature may not be available on all plans.

You can get notifications about locked deploys by email, outgoing webhook, or Slack. Netlify can notify you when a deploy is either locked or unlocked.

You can configure these notifications from the notifications section in Site settings > Build & deploy > Deploy notifications. Visit the deploy notifications documentation to learn more.

# Cancel a deploy

Sometimes, you may want to cancel a deploy after it has started. To do this, go to the detail page of the deploy in progress and select Cancel deploy. You’ll then be prompted to confirm the canceling action. Select Yes, cancel deploy to confirm.

If you later want to restart the deploy, go to the detail page for the deploy and select Options > Retry deploy.

# Skip a deploy

Sometimes, you may want to push commits to your production branch without triggering a deploy on Netlify. To do this, add [skip ci] or [skip netlify] anywhere in the Git commit message.

In the case of multiple commits pushed together, add [skip ci] or [skip netlify] to the most recent commit, and it will apply to all other commits in the push.

The next commit pushed without one of those messages will trigger a new deploy, including all changes from the skipped commits as well. To trigger a deploy at will on your production branch, go to your site’s Deploys page and select Trigger deploy at the top of the deploy list.

To avoid triggering automated deploys of any kind, you can stop builds for the entire site.

If you would like to continue building your deploys but don’t want them published to your main URL, you can stop auto publishing.

# Automated cleanup of failed and canceled deploys

Netlify automates the deletion of failed and canceled deploys older than 6 months as a part of deploy cleanup and maintenance.

Once deleted, you can expect deploys and their associated builds to disappear from the Netlify UI and API queries.

# Delete a deploy

You may want to delete a deploy to remove sensitive data, as a part of your team’s security best practices, or to clean up your Netlify deploys list. Deploy deletions are logged in the team audit log as Deploy deleted actions.

# Deploy deletion requirements

To delete a deploy manually in the Netlify UI, you must be a Collaborator or team Owner.

You cannot delete the deploy that was most recently published to a site’s main URL.

You also cannot delete a deploy that is still in progress. You must either cancel the deploy or wait until the deploy is finished before you can delete it.

# Deploy deletion considerations

Be aware that deleting a deploy is permanent and does not reduce costs for your Netlify team or help you preserve build minutes. More details on this are below.

Once a deploy is deleted, you cannot access any artifacts associated with the deploy, including URLs, deploy logs, or functions unique to the deploy. The deploy permalink for the deleted deploy will no longer work and will show a generic 404 error message instead.

After you delete a deploy, you may encounter the following:

  • The deploy context URL may no longer work. If you delete a deploy and there are no other deploys in the context, the deploy context URL will return a generic 404 message.
  • Your deploy context URL may show changes from a different deploy. If you delete the most recent deploy to a deploy context, then that URL will point to the next most recent deploy in the same context.
  • Split testing results may be disrupted. If the deleted deploy is from a branch with split testing configured, your split testing results may be disrupted.

After a deploy is deleted, the deploy’s associated build is removed from the team’s builds list on the main Builds page. However, the build data from deleted deploys is still included in the aggregated build minute counts and insights analytics to help you make an accurate assessment of your team’s build minutes usage.

# Delete a deploy through the UI

As a Collaborator or team Owner, you can delete a single deploy manually through the UI.

  1. To find the deploy you want to delete, go to the deploys page for your site and select the deploy from the deploy list or use the deploy search.

  2. From the deploy details page:

    • For successful deploys, select Options > Delete deploy.
    • For failed or canceled deploys, select Delete deploy.
  3. To confirm, review the deploy deletion warning, then select Delete.

# Download a deploy

From the detail page of any successful deploy, including Netlify Drop deploys, you can download a copy of your site.

To generate a ZIP file containing your deployed files, select the download icon that follows the date in the deploy detail page header (labeled “Download ZIP with deployed files” for screen readers). When the ZIP is finished generating, use Download ready to download the deploy.

If you’re looking to update a site you deployed manually through the UI, you can download and edit the deployed files locally, and then use the deploy dropzone to deploy the update.

# Deploy environment variables

You can set environment variables in the Netlify UI to control the environment your site gets deployed to. Deploy environment variables are available to serverless functions at execution time, snippet injection during post processing, and more.

  • Site-level environment variables are controlled in Site settings > Build & deploy > Environment > Environment variables.
  • Team-level environment variables are controlled in Team settings > Sites > Global site settings > Shared environment variables. (This feature may not be available on all plans.)

Variables set at the team level are shared by all sites owned by the team. These can be overridden by variables set at the site level.