Team member roles

When you add someone to your team, you give them a role that comes with certain permissions. Netlify’s team member roles include:

# Roles and permissions

Role options vary by plan.

Owner Collaborator Billing Admin Git Contributor Reviewer
Create sites ✔️ ✔️
Trigger builds ✔️ ✔️ ✔️
Access and edit site settings ✔️ ✔️
Collaborate on Deploy Previews ✔️ ✔️ ✔️ ✔️
Change levels for site add-ons ✔️ ✔️
Modify billing information ✔️ ✔️
Change team plan ✔️ ✔️
Add or remove extra concurrent builds ✔️
Add or remove members ✔️
Add and approve Reviewers ✔️ ✔️
Modify member roles ✔️
Edit team settings ✔️
Deploy to sites from private repos ✔️ ✔️ ✔️
Delete or transfer sites ✔️
Delete the team ✔️

# Owners

Team Owners can access the entire account and are able to add or remove team members, adjust settings and roles, create and delete sites, and more.

Every team must have at least one Owner at all times and can have multiple Owners. Owners cannot remove or demote themselves unless there is at least one additional Owner on the team.

A team Owner is a paid role, which means they contribute to your total member count and are included on your bill.

Organization Owners have the team Owner role by default.

# Collaborators

Team Owners can change site access to allow Collaborators to work on all sites within the team, or only on specific sites. Collaborators with access to a site can do things like trigger builds, edit site settings, and more.

Collaborators can also approve or block Reviewers for Collaborative Deploy Previews.

Although Collaborators can remove themselves from a team, they can’t remove other members.

Collaborators are paid roles. They contribute to your total member count and are included on your bill.

# Git Contributors

When a non-team member triggers a build, a team Owner can choose to add them to the team as a Git Contributor. Git Contributors can trigger builds, deploys, or Deploy Previews through Netlify from a private Git repository. They do not have access to the Netlify app or your team’s Netlify workspace.

If you’re a team Owner, you can add new Git Contributors to your team manually for each deploy request, or automatically by enabling auto-approval in Team Settings.

If you are on a Pro or Business account, you will be charged for Git Contributors who have triggered a deploy during your team’s billing period. These active Git Contributors also contribute to your total member count. The Members page shows a list of your team’s active and inactive Git Contributors.

If a Git Contributor hasn’t collaborated on any of your team’s sites during a billing period, they will be marked as inactive and you will not be charged for them. If needed, you can remove inactive Git Contributors from your team.

Reference the Billing FAQ page for more details.

# Reviewers

Once a team Owner or Collaborator approves them, reviewers are granted team-wide access for collaborating on Deploy Previews.

An unlimited number of Reviewers can be added to your team for free. They will not contribute to your total member count, and will not be included on your bill.

# Billing Admins

Billing Admins can change the team plan and modify billing information, but do not have access to other team or site features.

This role is only available for teams on our Business or Enterprise plan. Refer to the pricing page for details.